War system?

serge

Dec 22, 2021
I am fairly new to Mortal but I would love to see a change in the war system. The war system seems pretty useless right now. Both sides have to accept... I would love to see some sort of gold requirement or upkeep system to maintain a war. The criminal system is very punishing and it seems like most players have to buy a second account just to be able to always have a "Blue" character. I think it would be nice to have another valid form of PVP outside of going criminal.

Jackdstripper

Jan 8, 2021
The original war declaration system in MO 1 was kind of like that. People couldnt refuse a war dec. it was forced upon them . it cost money to declare and maintain a war dec active, etc.

However it didnt really work. It made it real easy for large guilds to greef small guilds. Also it just devolved in guild logging naked mage squads in town to focus down the enemy, then log off. Rinse and repeat.

on the other hand, the guild on the receiving hand would just all drop out of guild, or just make a new one. Therfore avoiding the wardec altogether.

im not saying the current system is great but its a lot harder than it sounds to make a good system that works, cant be cheesed or used to simply greef.

I would suggest that the only thing a war dec does is prevent the enemy from giving murder counts. The law stays the same in town. And the blue/grey flag works the same. Just no murder counts.

The original war declaration system in MO 1 was kind of like that. People couldnt refuse a war dec. it was forced upon them . it cost money to declare and maintain a war dec active, etc.
Some corrections to the MO 1 bit, all guilds could force one outgoing wardec regardless of how many wars the target had active, and there was no upkeep fee.

Personally, I'd like to see the same system return but with guards not honoring war declarations if a NPC empire (as opposed to a guild using TC; give them a toggle for it) has control of the town.