User Interface Improvements - Easy ways to make it more appealing to new players

Jan 28, 2022
Hello,

First of all - I like this game, I think it has great potential and I really want to one day say I love this game. It reminds me of great times, great friends and fun that was supposed to last longer.

I'm an MMO Veteran - with over 20 years of experience from the most successful and many less successful MMOs. I've also dabbled in game desing and development. I have a somewhat of an understanding what can make or break a game, or atleast I like to think so. I've been a gamer for 30 years, so if I don't know this then I know nothing.

You're offering a service that has a monthly fee. I expect the most basic things would be at least slightly polished and functional, when a game is fully released and getting ready for continuous subscribers. However the chatbox does not even allow the user to choose font size nor do the color options work in the settings.

Also the skill tree is quite messy, the text size is tiny and we can't scale it which is somewhat odd, since you can scale the compass size and it's the easiest element of your UI to see. Sure the tiny font doesn't matter, if you play on a computer monitor sitting really close, resolution isn't too high and/or you have perfect eye sight.

Furthermore the skills are unorganized, hard to navigate and a lot of them don't have any description. Maybe you could just split them in to Primary and Secondary, and organize alphabetically ? You could also have groups - Combat, Magic, Survival, Athletics for example.

The buttons for skill gains, locks and losses are crude and unappealing.

Why do I focus on these minor details, the team surely has more important matters to look in to ?